Free Shipping * on All Orders $125+

Search

    Dinnerware

    Flatware & Chopsticks

    Napkin Rings

    Table Linens

    All Dining

    Bar Tools

    Cocktail Glasses

    Coasters

    All Bar

    Cookware & Bakeware

    Storage & Organization

    Kitchen Utensils & Tools

    Pantry

    Table Linens

    Serving Bowls

    Cheese & Serving Boards

    Serving Utensils

    Cheese Knives & Spreaders

    Cake Stands, Lazy Susans, & Trays

    Pitchers & Carafes

    Mugs, Coffee & Tea

    Recycled Glassware

    Tumblers & Stemware

    All Drinkware

    Mango and Peppercorns


    A powerful memoir of resilience, friendship, family, and food from the acclaimed chefs behind the award-winning Hy Vong Vietnamese restaurant in Miami.

    Through powerful narrative, archival imagery, and 20 Vietnamese recipes that mirror their story, Mango & Peppercorns is a unique contribution to culinary literature.

    In 1975, after narrowly escaping the fall of Saigon, pregnant refugee and gifted cook Tung Nguyen ended up in the Miami home of Kathy Manning, a graduate student and waitress who was taking in displaced Vietnamese refugees. This serendipitous meeting evolved into a decades-long partnership, one that eventually turned strangers into family and a tiny, no-frills eatery into one of the most lauded restaurants in the country.

    Tung's fierce practicality often clashed with Kathy's free-spirited nature, but over time, they found a harmony in their contrasts—a harmony embodied in the restaurant's signature mango and peppercorns sauce.
    • IMPORTANT, UNIVERSAL STORY: An inspiring memoir peppered with recipes, it is a riveting read that will appeal to fans of Roy Choi, Ed Lee, Ruth Reichl, and Kwame Onwuachi.
    • TIMELY TOPIC: This real-life American dream is a welcome reminder of our country's longstanding tradition of welcoming refugees and immigrants. This book adds a touchpoint to that larger conversation, resonating beyond the bookshelf.
    • INVENTIVE COOKBOOK: This book is taking genre-bending a step further, focusing on the story first and foremost with 20 complementary recipes.
    Perfect for:
    • Fans of culinary nonfiction
    • Fans of Ruth Reichl, Roy Choi, Kwame Onwuachi, and Anya Von Bremzen
    • Home cooks who are interested in Asian food and cooking